Good Communication’s Not Just For Married Folks

The reason it has taken me so long to start a project for singles is that I dread the process of dating. Not that I mind being single, I just hate the dating process. One of the most annoying things for me is how long it can take to find out the most basic details. Until the foundation details are clear it is just passing time as friends, say for example if you can’t agree on the boundaries or your relationship or when to have children. If we are honest with ourselves, some relationships could have ended before they even got started…if there had been open and honest communication that clarified values, goals and intentions in the beginning.

Women have 10 words for every 1 a man says, or something like that right? So how well do you think that goes over in the world of online dating? I have checked out a few sites because I can’t tell you what’s out there if I don’t know. I was amazed at how many men post profiles online, looking for love and have no bio or description of themselves. Really guys?

You may think it’s okay not to communicate once you are in a relationship (and I’m not here to argue that); you must understand that not communicating is definitely not the way to find the person of your dreams or maintain an open and honest friendship. If you have trouble being expressive here are a few tips to help you create a profile that will attract who you are looking for:

Who, what, when, where, and why are great words to get you started online or in person.
1. Who are you? Likes, past times, history, goals, values, family (includes relationship status), etc.
2. What do you do? For a living, for fun, for romance, etc.
3. When do you do it? Runs before sunrise, dating by moonlight, annual vacations, etc.
4. Where do you do it? In the mountains, at the beach, in the city, etc.
5. Why do you do it? World peace, looking for love (or other intent), feed starving children, make millions, etc.

